Power Tools Saws Jigsaws/Saber Saws Jigsaws/Saber Saws Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw
 

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw Hot

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw

Product Info

Brand
Bosch
Model
1590EVSL
Approximate Price
$200.00

Compare prices at these retailers:

* 6.4-Amp top handle jigsaw; four-position stroke control
* Variable speed trigger (500-2800 strokes per minute); one-touch blade change
* Includes saw, 3 blades, anti-splitter insert, and LBOXX 2 carrying case
* 11.7-Pound; 1-Year warranty
* Control System eliminates blade wander
* Tool-less Footplate Bevel Adjustment

Image Gallery

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw

Editor review

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2011-10-28 19:41:37 WOOD Magazine
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
WOOD Magazine Reviewed by WOOD Magazine    October 28, 2011
Last updated: January 23, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

The accuracy of a bandsaw in the palm of your hand

Some woodworkers shun jigsaws for making curved cuts because the largely unsupported blade can deflect, leaving them with a ragged edge that’s not square to the face of the workpiece. Bosch’s 1590EVSK top-handle jigsaw sports blade supports just above the shoe (base) to prevent that deflection, similar to guide blocks on a bandsaw. I cut circles in 2×6 Douglas fir and if the blade strayed from perfectly vertical, I couldn’t measure it. That might be reason enough to want this jigsaw, but Bosch engineers added some other neat features as well, such as a one-touch blade-changing system that pops out a spent blade by merely flicking a lever on the front of the saw. I also like the shoe, which can be locked and unlocked without the use of tools. I found the shoe’s bevel scale easy to read and the 45° stops dead-on accurate.

The 1590EVSK backs up the bells and whistles with a 6.4-amp variable-speed motor (the most robust I’ve seen on a jigsaw) with electronic speed control that pours on more power when the going gets tough. Despite the power, the jigsaw has good balance and feel, especially for a top-handle saw. (If you prefer a barrel grip, model 1591EVSK has the same features, power, and price).
—Tested by Larry Arnold

Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
 

User reviews

View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 7 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Performance 
 
4.9  (7)
Features 
 
4.9  (7)
Ease of Use 
 
5.0  (7)
Value 
 
4.7  (7)
 
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2014-05-27 02:24:36 Rob Cairns
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
4.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Rob Cairns Reviewed by Rob Cairns    May 27, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Nothing To Complain About

Rave reviews are really kind of boring, but I really can't find much to complain about with this jigsaw. I don't quite agree that there is NO deflection of the blade with the Precision Control Guides engaged, but it's way better than any other jigsaw I've ever used. It has plenty of power, little vibration and lots of cool features. I suppose I could complain about the flimsy insert in the carrying case, but that's about it. It's a great tool, I'm glad I chose it and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2014-05-03 00:17:39 Thomas Jones
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Thomas Jones Reviewed by Thomas Jones    May 03, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Bosch 1590EVS

I had several other jigsaws over the years and none of them would cut at 90 degrees. I read some reviews and bought the Bosch 1590EVS and it was the best. If I need a clean cut and a constant 90 degree cut that is the one I go to. It is best jigsaw I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2014-04-29 17:48:33 Steve Hupfer
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Steve Hupfer Reviewed by Steve Hupfer    April 29, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Bosch 1590 EVS Jigsaw

Although this is a fairly heavy saw, the weight is actually an advantage because it keeps the saw squarely on the material to be cut and eliminates any bouncing during operation. I was told by an old woodworker friend that if I bought a Bosch it would be the last one I would ever need; I have found that to be true as there is no situation in which the saw would not perform better than any previous jigsaw I have owned! So far, I have had this saw 7 or 8 years and have never had any problem whatsoever with it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2012-12-08 05:56:40 Danny Hellyar
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Danny Hellyar Reviewed by Danny Hellyar    December 08, 2012
Last updated: May 05, 2014
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

The Industry standard for many years !

I've used this Bosch jigsaw for a lot of years now and I've never had any problems with it. I don't use it frequently , but one of my business associates uses this saw pretty much every day for many hours. He typically goes thru 5 or 6 of these a year. He has tried all the other brands on the market and none of them have held up as well as this Bosch. I originally bought this saw on the recommendation of others in the field who have all told me it is and has been the industry standard for many years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2012-11-15 12:14:48 Daniel Lavoie
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Daniel Lavoie Reviewed by Daniel Lavoie    November 15, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Quality Jig Saw

Bosch knocked it out of the park with this workhorse of a jig saw. A very durable and hard working jig saw. I am very impressed with its adjustable footplate and speed control. The precision guides and roller keeps your cuts accurate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
 
View all user reviews
 
Powered by JReviews