Power Tools Saws Jigsaws/Saber Saws Jigsaws/Saber Saws Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw
 

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw Hot

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw

Product Info

Brand
Bosch
Model
1590EVSL
Approximate Price
$200.00

Compare prices at these retailers:

* 6.4-Amp top handle jigsaw; four-position stroke control
* Variable speed trigger (500-2800 strokes per minute); one-touch blade change
* Includes saw, 3 blades, anti-splitter insert, and LBOXX 2 carrying case
* 11.7-Pound; 1-Year warranty
* Control System eliminates blade wander
* Tool-less Footplate Bevel Adjustment

Image Gallery

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw

Editor review

Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2011-10-28 19:41:37 WOOD Magazine
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
WOOD Magazine Reviewed by WOOD Magazine    October 28, 2011
Last updated: January 23, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

The accuracy of a bandsaw in the palm of your hand

Some woodworkers shun jigsaws for making curved cuts because the largely unsupported blade can deflect, leaving them with a ragged edge that’s not square to the face of the workpiece. Bosch’s 1590EVSK top-handle jigsaw sports blade supports just above the shoe (base) to prevent that deflection, similar to guide blocks on a bandsaw. I cut circles in 2×6 Douglas fir and if the blade strayed from perfectly vertical, I couldn’t measure it. That might be reason enough to want this jigsaw, but Bosch engineers added some other neat features as well, such as a one-touch blade-changing system that pops out a spent blade by merely flicking a lever on the front of the saw. I also like the shoe, which can be locked and unlocked without the use of tools. I found the shoe’s bevel scale easy to read and the 45° stops dead-on accurate.

The 1590EVSK backs up the bells and whistles with a 6.4-amp variable-speed motor (the most robust I’ve seen on a jigsaw) with electronic speed control that pours on more power when the going gets tough. Despite the power, the jigsaw has good balance and feel, especially for a top-handle saw. (If you prefer a barrel grip, model 1591EVSK has the same features, power, and price).
—Tested by Larry Arnold

Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Performance 
 
5.0  (4)
Features 
 
5.0  (4)
Ease of Use 
 
5.0  (4)
Value 
 
4.8  (4)
 
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2012-12-08 05:56:40 Danny Hellyar
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Danny Hellyar Reviewed by Danny Hellyar    December 08, 2012
Last updated: December 09, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

The Industry standard for many years !

I've used this Bosch router for a lot of years now and I've never had any problems with it. I don't use it frequently , but one of my business associates uses this saw pretty much every day for many hours. He typically goes thru 5 or 6 of these a year. He has tried all the other brands on the market and none of them have held up as well as this Bosch. I originally bought this saw on the recommendation of others in the field who have all told me it is and has been the industry standard for many years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2012-11-15 12:14:48 Daniel Lavoie
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Daniel Lavoie Reviewed by Daniel Lavoie    November 15, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Quality Jig Saw

Bosch knocked it out of the park with this workhorse of a jig saw. A very durable and hard working jig saw. I am very impressed with its adjustable footplate and speed control. The precision guides and roller keeps your cuts accurate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2012-06-03 02:15:26 Russ Prechtl
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Russ Prechtl Reviewed by Russ Prechtl    June 03, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

A Real Winner

I also bought mine as a reconditioned tool. It replaced another supposedly "pro" grade jigsaw I was frustrated with because it never cut straight. This one cut better than my previous one right out of the box! Since then I've been nothing but delighted with it. It cuts squarely on curves, and will turn very tightly with a fine blade. It has great power. The cord is nice and long, and the carrying case is nice and rugged too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Bosch 1590EVSL Top-Handle Jigsaw 2012-02-05 06:58:38 Don Buntin
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Don Buntin Reviewed by Don Buntin    February 05, 2012
Last updated: February 05, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Bosch 1590EVSL Jigsaw is tops!!

Have had this jigsaw for several months and love it. Runs smooth with very little vibration. Blade is well supported. It's the only jigsaw I have had that can literally shave a strip of wood thinner than the blade from the edge of a board without the blade flexing. Great no-tool one touch blade removal. It was a factory remanufactured model and had a good price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews