Power Tools Routers Plunge Routers Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001
 

Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001 Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001 Hot

Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001

Product Info

Brand
Triton
Model
TRA001
Approximate Price
$275.00

Compare prices at these retailers:

• 3-hp motor with soft start and electronic feedback circuitry to maintain speed under load
• Collet: 1/2" and 12mm; plus 1/4", 6mm & 8mm reducers
• Through-base, single spanner action bit change
• Variable speed: 8,000 - 21,000 rpm
• Free plunge, micro winder & winder handle rack & pinion
• Power: Input: 230V
• Depth Adjustment:
1. Conventional 'free' plunge
2. Micro winder
3. Winder handle
• Plunge Range: 0 - 2-11/16"
• Bit Changes: Through-base, single spanner action, auto shaft lock
• Micro Adjustment: Infinite
• Spindle Lock: Auto

Editor review

Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001 2011-12-07 20:33:42 WOOD Magazine
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Performance 
 
4.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
WOOD Magazine Reviewed by WOOD Magazine    December 07, 2011
Last updated: November 22, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Great table router, but clumsy when handheld

Essentially the big brother to Triton's 2-hp plunge router, the TRA001 (and its earlier generation TRC001) shares nearly every feature of that unit. But this one's 3-1/4 hp motor easily powered through even the toughest hardwoods without bogging down or losing spindle speed. One-wrench and spindle lock bit-change system coupled with above-table bit changes make this router excellent for table mounting. In addition to thru-table depth adjustment, the Triton has an automatic spindle lock that engages when the router is elevated all the way. The thru-table adjustment wrench has a speed handle for the fastest adjustment of all the routers we tested. The wrench also has a microadjust collar.

Turret stop has one fixed step flanked by two finger-adjustable steps. The fixed step has scales on both sides for setting the adjustable steps. There is no scale for the plunge stop rod. The spring-loaded plunge lock defaults to unlocked position. Mounted in a poor position on the router, it requires adjusting your grip and pulling with fingers and then pushing down with a thumb to lock. Although a unique feature, we found the handle-winder rather clumsy to use. In handle-winder mode, you can get fine, continuous adjustment by using a knob on the thru-table adjustment mechanism, but it has a ¾-turn lash. The large opening in the subbase does not accept guide bushings. The high center of gravity means less stability during hand-held edge routing. It does not come with a storage case.

Was this review helpful to you? 
50
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Performance 
 
4.3  (3)
Features 
 
4.7  (3)
Ease of Use 
 
3.7  (3)
Value 
 
3.7  (3)
 
Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001 2014-01-20 01:30:54 Roger Buziak
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Performance 
 
3.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Roger Buziak Reviewed by Roger Buziak    January 20, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

plastic parts

Couldn't get collet high enough above the table to engage the collet lock.Continuing to turn the crank provided for above table changing of bits, with less than moderate force, broke a plastic part inside the raising/lowering adjustment. Fine tuning of bit height now disabled 'til part is replaced. Was told HTC Products, Inc. is no longer in business. Was able to contact Nordis Distributors in Quebec. Very helpful. Sent me parts schematic and videos. New plastic part is on the way. Original problem still not solved.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001 2012-10-04 16:28:06 Mark Rawlings
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Mark Rawlings Reviewed by Mark Rawlings    October 04, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

A real Workhorse of a Router

This is my mainstay router in the workshop. I've got it mounted in a table and routinly use very large raised panel bits with great results. Easy bit changes, great power, good safety features. Somewhat long learning curve if you are used to regular routers, but the end result is a great router.

Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
Triton 3 HP Plunge Router #TRA001 2012-07-05 23:19:47 John
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
John Reviewed by John    July 05, 2012
Last updated: July 05, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Great Router for the Table

I've had this router for over 6 months now and it's a beast. I have it mounted in a homemade router table. I like the ability to raise and lower the router through the mounting plate from the top without removing the router. I also like the variable speed control, and it's size and power make it ideal for a router table. It's easy to adjust and I like the feature that allows changing the bit above the table. WoodCraft had this router on sale for $199 so the deal was too good to pass up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
80
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews