Power Tools Jointers & Planers Planers Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580
 

Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580 Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580 Hot

Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580

Product Info

Brand
Delta Machinery
Model
22-580
Approximate Price
$420.00
* 2 speeds: dimensioning speed of 60 CPI and a quicker finishing speed of 90 CPI
* The double-sided M2 steel knives are powered by a 15 amp, 120-volt, single-phase motor
* It has a blade zero indicator (which lets you set the cutterhead to the exact thickness of your wood), a cutterhead lock (which eliminates snipe), and easy blade-change
* Includes infeed and outfeed tables, which make it easier to glide your wood through the machine
* Maximum width is 13” and maximum height is 6.5” and a minimum of 1/8”
* Blades are 2 sided and basically drop in
* Weight: 95 lbs.

Editor review

Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580 2011-12-02 15:47:06 WOOD Magazine
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
WOOD Magazine Reviewed by WOOD Magazine    December 02, 2011
Last updated: March 06, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Delta Machinery 13" Benchtop Planer 22-580

This model has been discontinued by the manufacturer, and replaced with the 22-590 planer.

High points: This planer scored well in most of our performance categories, including cut quality and lack of snipe. Thickness stop can be set at any height from 1/8" to 6-1/2".

Low points: The 22-580’s “blade zero” indicator, which is supposed to tell when the cutterhead height matches stock thickness, varied by as much as 1/64" in our tests. The full-range thickness stop lacks the reliable repeatability of dedicated thickness stops. It’s also clumsy to engage.

More points: Optional dust hood can direct debris to either the left or right of the machine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Performance 
 
5.0  (4)
Features 
 
4.5  (4)
Ease of Use 
 
4.5  (4)
Value 
 
4.5  (4)
 
Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580 2012-10-22 20:19:44 Kenneth
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Kenneth Reviewed by Kenneth    October 22, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Rock solid

This is a great little planer. It is barely what I would be called portable since it weighs around 90 lbs. There are reports about the failing speed changer. I switched the speed once and didn't notice a difference in finish so I switched back to the faster speed and left it there. It is loud, but all lunchbox planers are. Blade changes are a snap. If you adjust the infeed and outfeed tables correctly you do not have any snipe problems. It is a shame that the dust hood is not included. I ran mine hard for 3 years before stepping up to a 15" stationary planer for capacity and noise reduction. I never had an issue .

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580 2012-04-25 01:07:01 Alan Wesley
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Alan Wesley Reviewed by Alan Wesley    April 25, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Working great for 4 years now.

I am a woodworker for my own purposes...my own cabinetry and furniture. I use this with an adjustable planer sled to smooth and joint all sorts of wood. I even had great success with some curly maple. However, there are some issues. I almost always run at low speed. On high speed, it cuts shavings that like to clog either the dust port, or my 4" line to the dust collector. This is always evident when chips start flying out the in. Also, I have had to repeatedly Loc-Tite the small screws that hold the table extensions on. Then too, there is the fact that you must remove the dust chute to fold up the exit table. But the results have been great. I have never replaced the knives yet, even during my recent bout with the curly maple. I did find that light cuts, a light mist of water on the wood, and running it through at whatever angle the board length allowed gave me a clean cut. I just recently flipped the blades and honed their edges to start on a teak project. Snipe is generally non-existent even without the lock if the board is properly supported. My depth stop and height gauge both work well. It did take me a while to get used to setting the depth stop, for some reason. Now I get it set easily. Overall, this has been a good machine, and I wonder why Delta quit making it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
02
Report this review
Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580 2012-03-28 04:50:45 Scott Spencer
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Scott Spencer Reviewed by Scott Spencer    March 28, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Just Plane Terrific

The acquisition of Delta's 13" two-speed planer, was more a purchase of opportunity than a need. My trusty 3 year old Delta 22-560 was running perfectly and hadn't seen heavy use in that time.

The 22-580 has a few features that the 22-560 does not have. The most notable new feature is the two-speed selector. The 22-580 was the first benchtop to offer this useful feature, but DeWalt has followed suit with the well publicized DW735. The higher speed has 60 cuts per inch and is intended for use when doing rough dimensioning of lumber. The slower speed has 90 cuts per inch and is used for final passes to obtain a smoother finish. The slower speed can also be used when planing highly figured hardwoods to reduce tearout. The 580 has a slightly larger capacity than the 560, increasing from 12-1/2" to 13" ... a negligible difference. It also has a depth indicator that lets you know when you've lowered the cutterhead sufficiently to reach the surface of the board. I find this feature really helpful. With my old planer this was achieved via trial and error and was rather inconvenient. At around 90#, the 22-580 is also considerably heavier than the 22-560, has longer infeed/outfeed tables, and the knobs and hardware are beefier for the most part. I especially like the larger crank for raising and lowering the cutterhead. The motor appears to be the same that's on the 22-560 and most other benchtop planers (15amp universal type). Even though it's no louder than most planers, it is loud enough that hearing protection is recommended. Like the 22-560, the knives are indexed, reversible, and disposable. They're very easy to change with the provided hex wrench and magnetic blade holder, both of which have on-board storage.

Not every difference is an improvement in my opinion. The knitpicks - My 22-560 had a place to coil the cord under the outfeed table...a handy feature that was omitted from the 22-580. The 22-560's outfeed table could be raised with the dust chute in place....not so with the 580. The dust chute interferes with the raising of the outfeed table, so either the outfeed table stays down or the dust chute gets removed when stowing the machine away. One complaint I had with the 22-560 was addressed on the 580, but not effectively in my opinion - the 560 had no accommodation to hold a board on top of the machine while passing it from the outfeed side back to the infeed side during multiple passes. The 580 includes a single roller to assist with this task, but requires either awkwardly hand balancing the board atop the single roller while walking back to the infeed side, or an assistant to pass the board to. The board won't stay there unattended. Two rollers placed on top with a few inches between them would have effectively provided a temporary holding spot while the operator travels from the outfeed side to the infeed side...a feature I have seen on other planers. With both machines I'm forced to just carry the board with me. (As stated, these are "knitpicks")

Performance of the 22-580 is excellent. The 560 had performed nicely also. The slower speed gives a noticeably smoother finish. The 22-560's finish was more comparable to the high speed setting on the 580. Snipe is just about non-existent, as it was with the 560. I also like the heavier mass of the 580. It's simply more stable when passing large boards through. Dust collection is one area where I'm a bit disappointed in the 580. The dust chute is quite different than the one on the 22-560. Hooked up to the same dust collector, in the same location, with the same ducting, the 580 leaves far more chips behind than the 560 did. I find myself blowing the table clear before each pass.

Overall I think the 22-580 is a fine planer if the price is right. My biggest complaint is with the design of the dust chute, but is otherwise an excellent performer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Delta 13" Benchtop Planer #22-580 2012-03-01 17:53:23 Dale Smith
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Dale Smith Reviewed by Dale Smith    March 01, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Delta 22-580 Planer

I pay more attention to long-term reviews, so here goes one for the 22-580: After a year + of hard use, still very impressed with this Delta. bought it used from internet at about 1/2 retail price and it's become a mainstay in my shop. It just consistently produces excellent results when adjusted properly. I like the dual speed, 13" width vs some of the 12 1/2", very good height gage, the top roller, and real steel in/outfeed tables.

A couple of negatives: the workpiece height stop no longer works, dust chute should be included (not an optional $$ cost extra), and it's very loud (but what planers aren't?)

Overall 4.5 stars, would definitely buy the newer model Delta if ever needed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews