Power Tools Dust Collection Dust Collectors Clear Vue CV1800 Cyclone
 

Clear Vue CV1800 Cyclone Clear Vue CV1800 Cyclone Hot

Clear Vue CV1800 Cyclone

Product Info

Brand
Clear Vue
Model
CV1800
Approximate Price
$1,595.00
* Leeson 5HP Motor - Single Phase
* 15" Blower Housing
* 15" Impeller
* CV1800 LH Cyclone Body
* 90° Filter Transition
* Hanger Plate Assembly
* Heavy Duty Motor Relay

Our cyclone bodies are built from heavy gauge 1/8" thick patented copolyester (PETG) plastic, which includes the best qualities of both acrylic (Plexiglas) and poly carbonate (Lexan). PETG plastic has the toughness and scratch resistance of poly carbonate, is cold forming (can be bent at room temperature to 90 degrees without breaking), and is very impact resistant. Additionally, it has the cost effectiveness of acrylic without being brittle.

Our cyclones are thermo-formed over machined round forms, making them as true to a perfect circle as possible. All seams on our cyclones are of an offset lap type joint, making the inside of the cyclone very smooth thus keeping air turbulence and friction to a minimum.

The CV1800 units include an 18" diameter (PETG) plastic cyclone with an MDF board ring at the top, an intake transition from rectangle to 6" round, as well as a piece of 6" flex hose at the bottom of the cyclone for hooking up to the trash can. For single phase units, a relay is included.

Editor review

Clear Vue CV1800 Cyclone 2014-01-08 14:28:27 WOOD Magazine
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Performance 
 
4.0
Features 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
WOOD Magazine Reviewed by WOOD Magazine    January 08, 2014
Last updated: January 08, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

See-through cyclone delivers so-so performance

After our test of nine 220-volt dust collectors in issue 218 (May 2013), many readers asked how a Clear Vue Cyclone stacked up against those machines. So we ordered the company’s CV1800LH unit and put it through the same tests.
Clear Vue collectors sell as kits comprised of sturdy plastic and medium-density fiberboard (MDF) components, a heavy-duty steel fan, and a 5-hp Leeson motor. During assembly, we needed a couple tubes of silicone sealant for all the joints. Nevertheless, in use we discovered a half-dozen air leaks that required more silicone.

It’s cool to watch the dust rotate in the clear-plastic cone and find its way to the tub and filter, but that novelty soon wears off. Compared to our previous dust collector test, the CV1800LH posted airflow readings that place it in the middle of that earlier test group. At 1,100 cubic feet per minute (cfm) of airflow, this unit could overcome 4" of static-pressure loss, and at 800 cfm—the minimum airflow needed for planers—it overcomes a respectable 7" of resistance. Those are acceptable figures.

But the Clear Vue falls behind the other collectors we tested when it comes to dust filtration. Based on our measurements of air particles per cubic foot, the CV1800LH returned more than 20 times as much fine dust to the shop air as the Oneida V-System cyclone that topped our filtration testing a year earlier. And, despite its ability to cyclonically separate larger debris, the Clear Vue returned more dust particles to the air than five single-stage collectors with bag and canister filters. If there were other leaks letting dust escape, we could not find them.

Bottom line: $1,595 is a lot of money for a kit collector that performs at a level below many lower-cost machines.

Was this review helpful to you? 
90
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0  (2)
Features 
 
5.0  (2)
Ease of Use 
 
5.0  (2)
Value 
 
5.0  (2)
 
Clear Vue CV1800 Cyclone 2014-01-07 02:05:29 Dave Panetta
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Dave Panetta Reviewed by Dave Panetta    January 07, 2014
Last updated: January 07, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Very happy with my machine

I have had a ClearVue like this for several years. Ther were only 1 or 2 non comercial units available when I bought it. I used 6 in s&d PVC for the main and 3 tool drops right to my machines, the longest is about 60 ft. The main goes across the vaulted ceiling of my shop (38 ft), about 15 ft up. I also have two 4 in drops. All have blast gates. I have a yardstick with 1/4 in U tube filled with colored water at my table saw in the center of the main (about 40 ft from the unit) it shows about an 11 in differential when I open the 4in gate i use to vacuum and about 7 or 8 in when i open the 6 in gate to my saw.
Just a note about the 5 hp motor - I measured the startup inrush current at about 110 amps - that will dim the lights if you don't have enough service.
My filter stack is 6 large used truck air filters I got from a friend that works on big rigs. I blew them out before I installed them and once since. I probably have twice the filter area of the ones used by some of the units sold by most mfg.

The March 14 issue of Wood reviewed the current Clear Vue and gave it what looks like a middling rate on filtration but I personally feel that is more a failure of the filters and blow by on the tools not the cyclone itself. My shop has some dust but not as much as when I used a 3 hp single stage with a 1 u bag.

I am happy with my results.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14
Report this review
Clear Vue CV1800 Cyclone 2013-05-19 19:39:38 Jerry Wegenast
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Jerry Wegenast Reviewed by Jerry Wegenast    May 19, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Great machine - good value

This is a very efficient unit. I have the 5hp and am operating three runs of 20' 30' and 35'using the six inch pipe. Reducing to 4" as close to the machines as possible. Individual blast gates at each machine are easy to operate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
92
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews