Hand Tools Clamps Bar & Pipe Clamps Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp
 

Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp Hot

Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp

Product Info

Brand
Jet
Model
70424
Approximate Price
$40.00

Compare prices at these retailers:

• Available in 12, 24, 31, 40, and 50" lengths. $40 listed price is typical for a 24" clamp; other lengths vary slightly.
• 90 degree clamping at up to 1,000 lbs of pressure.
• Reversible clamping movable jaw can be reversed to be used as a spreader.
• On-bar measurements provides quick identification of opening capacity .
• Movable rail stand/end stop can preset clamping capacity.
• Side profile allows narrow clamping on the side of the jaw face.
• Acme threaded handle.
• Optional squaring blocks and bench dog mounts come standard in some clamp packages.

Editor review

Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp 2012-01-20 23:20:08 WOOD Magazine
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
WOOD Magazine Reviewed by WOOD Magazine    January 20, 2012
Last updated: January 20, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Feature-laden clamps are our favorites

Jet's parallel clamps earned the Top Tool award when we tested parallel clamps. They have large jaws (4-3/16" tall x 1-13/16" wide) that stayed parallel even when we clamped them under maximum force. We like its trigger-activated clutch that keeps the moveable jaw set in place until you're ready to move it, and then it glides with ease. There's also increments marked in inches along the top of the bar to help you preset the jaw opening before gluing your boards—that's a handy feature no other clamp has. The moveable ends stops not only keep the bar parallel and above the workbench, but they also slide toward the moveable jaw for times when you need to extend the bar off the bench but don't want to lose that parallelness. Sure, these clamps are heavier than most parallel clamps and showed the lowest amount of clamping force in our test of all parallel clamp models, but they're rugged and clamp with enough force to pull together any joint we could create.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Performance 
 
4.7  (3)
Features 
 
5.0  (3)
Ease of Use 
 
4.3  (3)
Value 
 
4.3  (3)
 
Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp 2012-10-12 16:49:09 Danny Hellyar
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Performance 
 
4.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Danny Hellyar Reviewed by Danny Hellyar    October 12, 2012
Last updated: February 27, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

A FRONT RUNNER

I have sets of both the newer Bessey's and these. I prefer the Bessey's but these are very good too. The heads don't slide along the bar as easily as the Bessey's but that's a good thing if you want to keep the clamp heads at the same set up for multiple glue ups. And I've had some of the heads that weren't exactly parallel along the width which created divot's in the wood from the pressure being concentrated at the outer edges of the clamp head This can be solved with a little sanding of the head. I've also found that the lever that's just under the handle sometimes gets in the way of tightening the clamp. It's also a little easier to get more pressure to the item being clamped with the rubbery handles on the Bessey's, verses these Jets, but overall these may be a better value if you get them at a lower price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp 2012-10-05 01:23:46 Steve
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Steve Reviewed by Steve    October 05, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Great clamps.

I've got the Bessey K-bodies and I've got the Jets. Both are great, but I like the Jets a bit better because of the quick-release lever and the serrated bar that seems to offer a quicker bite when first tightening up the clamps. The inch marks on the bars are nice too, because I can easily open the jaws to a specific width, like 18" if I have to fit a 16" panel inside. One other thing I like is the foot at the end of the bar that keeps the clamp sitting flat on the bench, no matter where the jaws are. On my older Bessy's that don't have that, the weight of the bar can make the clamp tilt up if both jaws are close to the same end of the bar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Jet Parallel Jaw Clamp 2012-02-10 02:57:40 Mike
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Performance 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Ease of Use 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Mike Reviewed by Mike    February 10, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Great Clamps!!!

I have Bessey and Jet but the Jet has more beef. And the framing blocks have convenient screw on bench dogs. Also have 3 of the 98" models and they are perfect for full sheet good glue ups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews